At a glance (2 minute read)

  • BC government identifies 47 municipalities to build affordable homes quickly
  • Selected municipalities must address local barriers to construction and update zoning bylaws
  • Meeting targets grants additional funding for amenities; failure may result in forced rezoning for added density

On May 31, 2023, housing minister Ravi Khalon announced 47 municipalities that have been negligent in building affordable homes for new housing targets, requiring them to build affordable homes as quickly as possible.

The targeted municipalities were identified by order-in-council 328 based on the greatest need and highest potential growth.

To meet the new housing targets, the selected municipalities will need to address local barriers to construction so that housing can get built faster, including updating zoning bylaws and streamlining local development approval processes.

Municipalities meeting their targets will receive additional funding for amenities including bike lanes, parks, and recreation centres. If they fail to meet their targets, they’ll face further oversight, including the potential for the province to force rezoning to add further density.

The goal is to generate affordable missing middle, family-friendly, market and rental housing.

The new Housing Supply Act gives the province the authority to set housing targets in municipalities, while the new Housing Supply Regulation gives the province the authority to designate those municipalities.

Municipalities in your Board’s area range from large cities such as Vancouver, Burnaby, and Richmond to smaller communities such as Belcarra and Port Moody. 

Municipalities in the Board area in alphabetical order (17 in total)

  • Anmore
  • Belcarra
  • Burnaby
  • Coquitlam
  • Delta*
  • Lions Bay
  • Maple Ridge
  • New Westminster
  • North Vancouver (city)
  • North Vancouver (district)
  • Pitt Meadows
  • Port Coquitlam
  • Port Moody
  • Richmond
  • Squamish (district)
  • Vancouver
  • West Vancouver (district)

Municipalities elsewhere (30 in total)

  • Abbotsford*
  • Central Saanich
  • Chilliwack
  • Colwood
  • Duncan
  • Esquimalt
  • Highlands
  • Kamloops
  • Kelowna
  • Ladysmith
  • Lake Cowichan
  • Langford
  • Lantzville
  • Langley
  • Metchosin
  • Mission
  • Nanaimo
  • North Cowichan
  • North Saanich
  • Oak Bay
  • Prince George
  • Saanich
  • Sidney
  • Sooke
  • Surrey
  • Victoria*
  • View Royal
  • West Kelowna
  • White Rock

Backgrounder: read Ten municipalities required to meet housing targets to get homes built faster.

Read the government order-in-council 328 designating the list.